Our department of 24 faculty, 389 undergraduates, and 187 graduate students welcomes you. Established in 1867, we have a long tradition of excellence in teaching, research, and service.

Student News - October 2014

Andre & Andy at picnic undergrad picnic
Faculty and students enjoy the MatSE Undergraduate Picnic on September 3. More photos on Facebook

MatSE Visit Day

Around 60 high school students and their families are expected for the MatSE High School Visit Day on Sunday, October 12. Thanks to all the students who have signed up to volunteer for the event.

MatSE Merchandise

Merchandise orders have arrived! If you placed an order, you can pick it up from Cindy Brya in room 201B MSEB. Please have exact change or a check to pay for your order.

Material Advantage news

The October general meeting will be held at 7:00pm Thursday, October 9, in 119 MSEB. Stick around after the meeting for informal advising about courses and to hear concentration reps talk about the five concentrations in MatSE.

MA will be holding review sessions for MSE 301 (7:00-8:30pm October 7, 119 MSEB) and PHYS 214 (7:00-8:30pm October 8, 218 Ceramics).

Find out about internships at the Intern Student Panel Discussion (7:00-9:00pm October 20, 119 MSEB) and Everything you wanted to know about REUs (7:00-9:00pm October 27, 119 MSEB)

MA will be hosting a Composites Talk with alumnus David Watson (VP, Pariveda Solutions) from 7:00-8:00pm Thursday, October 16, in 4101 MSEB and will host a Young Alumnus Tech Talk on Thursday, October 23, from 7:00-9:00 p.m. in 119 MSEB.

Steel Dynamics
MA hosted a plant trip to Steel Dynamics in Pittsboro, IN, on September 27.

Keramos News

Keramos' October general meeting will be 7:00-8:00pm Wednesday, October 1, in 218 Ceramics. Students will be discussing MS&T, upcoming events and more.

Keramos will also be hosting coffee chats, starting Friday, October 3, from 9:30-10:30am in the 2nd floor lounge in MSEB. Enjoy some free coffee/tea/water/assorted beverages with fellow students and professors.

The October "Play with Clay" dates are Mondays, October 6 and 20 from 5:00-7:00pm, and Tuesday, October 28, from 6:00-8:00pm. Feel free to stop by for an hour! [Keramos initiates are required to attend 3 Play with Clay sessions in order to become a member.]

MA and Keramos will also going to Curtis Apple Orchard on Saturday, October 18, 11:00am-2:00pm. If you're interested in attending, RSVP to this link so we can judge how many people are coming! 

If you need help on any homework, labs, or a place to study, Keramos will be hosting weekly study hours every Sunday from 7:00-11:00pm in 414 Grainger Library. 

Keramos will also be getting quarter-zips!  Sign up here if you're interested in getting one. Current estimates are $25, but if more people order, the price will decrease! 

MRS News

Congratulations to the new Graduate Student Materials Research Society Officers for the 2014-2015 academic year!

President: Josh Leveillee (First year, Prof. Schleife's group)
Vice President: Aram Yoon (Second year, Prof. Zuo's group)
Treasurer: Pralav Shetty (First year, Prof. Krogstad's group)
Secretary: Rebecca McAuliffe (Second year, Prof. Shoemaker's group)
Member at Large: Lawrence Valverde (Second year, Prof. Wilson's group)

Alumni Panel Discussion

Meena Banasiak (General Mills), Andy Powell (GE Aviation), Gerald Wilson (Autonomic Materials), Dave Teter (LANL), Howard Savage (Cummins), Kevin Arpin (Xerion Advanced Battery), Khalid Hattar (Sandia), and Dara Gough (Sandia) participated in an alumni panel discussion on September 25. Thank you to all who participated!

alumni panel
Alumni Panelists

Metallurgy Scholarship

Ellwood Group, Inc. (EGI) is pleased to announce its Annual Metallurgy Scholarship. A $15,000 scholarship will be awarded to the top candidate; up to three additional $5,000 scholarships will be available to well-qualified students. The minimum GPA requirement has been adjusted to 2.75. This scholarship is awarded on an annual basis to talented and dedicated metallurgical students to encourage their pursuit of a career within the steel and heavy metal industry. The scholarship is open to undergraduate college students in their junior year currently majoring in the field of metallurgy/material science at selected and accredited four-year colleges and universities. The scholarship includes a paid internship at an EGI business unit in the US during the summer of 2015. The application can be downloaded from the EGI website: www.ellwoodgroup.com.  Along with the completed application, the applicant packet must be received by EGI on or before October 6, 2014.

NASF Scholarship

The National Association for Surface Finishing (NASF) Educational Foundation is now accepting applications for their 2014 Scholarship Award Program. Open to national and international applicants attending an accredited college, NASF’s Scholarship Program supports student research in plating and surface finishing science and engineering. Applications for the 2014-2015 school year are due December 9, 2014. Undergraduate and graduate students studying chemical engineering, material science or engineering, mechanical engineering, metallurgical engineering, environmental engineering or chemistry are encouraged to apply. Undergraduates must be a junior in standing or above when applying and must be of senior standing for the 2014-2015 academic year. Honorary scholarship recipients will each receive an award in the amount of $1,500 toward their study and/or research related to the advancement of the plating and surface finishing industries. Interested applicants should visit NASF.org/Scholarships for complete program information.

Hertz Foundation Fellowship

Hertz Foundation Fellowships are for students applying to a PhD program or are in the first year of a PhD program, who are American citizens or permanent residents. The 5-year fellowship offers a stipend of $32,000 per year, $5,000 annually for dependent childcare, and $38,000 stipend if coordinated with another 3-year fellowship. Apply online by October 31 at www.hertzfoundation.org.

Calendar Images needed

Have you taken any cool or unusual images lately while conducting your research? Want to share these awesome images with the rest of the world, but just don't know how? Send your images to the 2015 MATSE Calendar Design Committee, and we'll turn your images into artistic masterpieces! 

If you would like your work to be part of the 2015 MatSE Calendar please read the following guidelines: 
1. When taking images, please save them in TIFF format. You can try to send jpegs but we cannot promise that they will be high enough resolution for the calendar. 
2. Send your images to matse.calendar.uiuc@gmail.com
3. FOR EACH IMAGE, please include a title, the characterization tool used to take the image, and magnification (we will most likely remove any scale bars from the image). Also, in your email please include your first and last name as you would like it to appear in the calendar.

If you have any questions, contact Eric Epstein (esepste2@illinois.edu) or Andy Long (awlong2@illinois.edu).

Follow us

Keep up with the latest MatSE faculty research, student accomplishments, and MatSE events (including photos) by following MatSE on social media!
Like us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/matse.illinois
ollow us on Twitter @IllinoisMatSE
Join the MatSE at Illinois LinkedIn group (for MatSE students and alumni): https://www.linkedin.com/groups/MatSE-Illinois-3944976/about

MatSE Jobs

Cindy Brya emails the undergrad and grad student listserves with job opportunities or internships for MatSE students. If you miss an email or accidentally delete a job posting in which you're interested, go to http://go.illinois.edu/matse_jobs. On the site, you will find current and previous job postings which Cindy has forwarded to students.